Maharashtra University of Health Sciences (MUHS) is a higher education institution in Nashik District, Maharashtra, India. The university was established on 3 June 1998 by the State Government of Maharashtra through an ordinance. The State Legislature passed Maharashtra University of Health Sciences Act 1999 (Act No X) and received the assent of the Governor, in the Maharashtra Government Gazette on 21 January 1999. The university was declared open by the governor of Maharashtra on June 10, 1998. All colleges and institutions imparting education in health science in the state of Maharashtra have been History affiliated to this new university under Section 6(3) of the Act.[1]
The university was established to ensure proper and systematic instruction, teaching, training, and research in modern medicine and Indian systems of medicine in the State of Maharashtra. A committee was formed in 2000 by the Government Of Maharashtra to review the progress of the Maharashtra University of Health Sciences and to recommend measures for modifying its functions and responsibilities in the light of the new challenges faced by the university.


MUHS offers undergraduate and postgraduate studies including Ph.D. in all
branches of health sciences.
Undergraduate programmes of five and a half years such as

  1. Bachelor of Medicine,
  2. Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)
  3. Bachelor of Ayurveda, Medicine, and Surgery (BAMS)
  4. Bachelor of Homoeopathic Medicine and Surgery (BHMS)
  5. Bachelor of Unani Medicine & Surgery (BUMS))

Are conducted by MUHS. Dental and nursing degrees are offered.
Postgraduate courses awarded are versatile including Doctor of Medicine

  1. (M.D.) in various areas, Master of Surgery
  2. (M.S.), as well as Master of Science
  3. (M.Sc.) courses and other PG diplomas.

For more details visit the site